Grey Wagtail at Wallbridge in Stroud

I walked into town on the canal towpath this morning for a meeting to talk about how we might influence any possible canalside developments in the future, to the advantage of the residents and the community.

As I approached the recently rebuilt lock at Wallbridge, I reached the end of the derelict section where the canal is mostly overgrown with weeds and assorted junk has been thrown in. A small bird suddenly flew up out of the reeds and I watched fly to the edge of the dredged basin where it landed on its stone walled edge. I thought it was a wagtail at first when seeing it from a distance, so I took my camera out to record it as I felt it was quite rare in this area. I like its yellow colouring, but I don't think it is a Yellow Wagtail.

I managed just two shots before it flew off, and this is one of them heavily cropped so you can see it in a bit more detail. I followed its flight and it disappeared high up and over all the adjacent buildings and headed away. I wonder now whether it is en route for a migratory destination, possibly the hot climes of Africa. If anyone can confirm that it is a Grey Wagtail, I would be pleased to know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.