ABT

By ABT

Travelling cat

Being a cat-lover, this book immediately caught my eye in the book shop. The author is from Japan, where the story is based, and the text has been translated into English by the same translator who works with the immensly talented Haruki Murakami. Upon reading the synopsis (and the review by The Guardian on the front cover which just says 'heartbreaking'), I at first was not sure whether I should buy it, thinking it might be a bit dreary - who needs that!  Well goodness me, I am so glad I bought it. I'm normally more of a crime/action kind of reader eg Ian Rankin's 'Rebus' series or some Dan Brown etc, so this would not normally be on my radar. Now, it's not often I get emotional about a book. Never, in fact I think the last one I read which I found to be pretty powerful was The Kite Runner a long time ago.  So, the story is beautifully written, it's not hard-going and has been very difficult to put down. And then it happens. As soon as I read the inside cover I knew how it was going to end. I was not however prepared, upon reading the last few chapters, to be left, on public transport, crying like a baby!! I need a rest...and to also stock up on tissues as I believe it's going to be made into a movie. Go read it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.