Low Fell and Crummock Water

I noticed yesterday that the Lakeland fells have become higher and steeper since my last visit. Nobody will now convince me that tectonics is restricted to geological time. There is massive uplift going on. My legs are sure of this. 

Accommodation to my poorly condition prompted a walk up Low Fell today, low in name and height but big in terms of its views. I had never stood at this spot before. It's a very long time since I've bagged a new summit in England.

I seem destined never to meet my scheduled trains. Plenty of time was left for the journey to Windermere but we were thwarted by badgers. They had undermined the road at the far end of the Whinlatter Pass, making it impassable. Newlands Pass had already been abandoned for fear of ice. It was a case of turning around and making a long detour, albeit an incredibly beautiful one. It was hard to complain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.