DancingAly

By DancingAly

Coastal Hike

Every morning I had a long walk after breakfast. 

Just beautiful!

I think today is Wednesday (27/12). Writing this retrospectively makes it more tricky but I want to remember all the details of this lovely trip.

It was another 4am start. I actually quite like it, mostly because instead of being lonely, it's very peaceful, and it's nice to just relax, watch the news and chat with those eight hours ahead of me ;-) 

I had wanted to explore more of San Diego whilst I was here. But having decided to stay in Pacific Beach, exploring San Diego and it's different areas meant either an Uber or a taxi to get anywhere. Nobody at the hotel suggested the bus, although I did see a few in town so presumably I could have taken one. 

It all became a bit of a headache to me, and truth be told, it was causing me a bit of stress- so much for independent travelling! I did a lot of research into the best attractions etc, places like Balboa Park and SeaWorld, but eventually I concluded that I could live with not seeing them, and once I decided I would entertain myself at the beach, my fears began to dissipate! They were more worries along the lines of safety, which I'm afraid is the product of anxious parents! 

I found it a bit hard to not have a plan, if you like, but I had to keep reminding myself " you can go wherever you want to, it's ok if you only want to do X"! 

After breakfast at Woody's, which fast became my usual haunt, I decided to go for a long walk, this time heading towards the pier. 

It is so pretty, and the paths were full of strollers, walkers, joggers etc,. It's not hard to be happy here as the weather is so beautiful, I just could not get over the fact it was like summer, but in December!

I picked up a few groceries as I called into a few places- the supermarket Ralph's was quite a nice exploration! I spent a lot of time being hypnotised by packaging and  because there was just so much choice, it was actually really hard to find the things I needed. 

The rest of the day was spent in and out of the hotel- reading, swimming, and then a nice walk as the sun was setting. 

This is a lovely place to be. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.