horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Fortunately I can see the light

7 or 8 years ago, might have been longer than that, a slight dark spot was, erm, 'spotted' at the back of my left eye by my optician. A number of trips to the Ophthalmology clinic followed in the course of the next 12 months, just making sure it wasn't changing at all. And it was fine.

Last year I started noticing some distortion in my left eye, bang centre, straight lines go curved. I made an appointment with my optician, and once again got referred (at the second attempt, long story). A few months after that and I was back at the clinic. The empty clinic. The last patient in the building. There was something very 28 Days Later about it.

Long story cut short, the dark spot hasn't grown. Same story as before, the back of my eye has been damaged at some point, could be any number of causes, it's not getting worse, it's nothing to worry about, and there's nothing I can do. Which is good news really (save it would appear I've got to live with a slight distortion in the centre of my vision in that eye).

Has been hanging over me a bit. Tomorrow I'll celebrate with a drink (tonight was 6th turbo day in a row - almost 200 miles for the year already, and the new commuting bike arrives tomorrow, so there's about to be something of a spike).

Not in bad shape for 41 really. Save for the dodgy left eye. The thrice-broken right arm. The ligamentally-torn left knee. The scoliosis-hampered back. The dietary-intolerance. Yeah. Apart from all of that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.