a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Goodnight Rose

Flower Friday 12/01/2018: Goodnight Rose

"We're going to win
Put your troubles behind you
And go on to bed
Let go of the worry
There's so much nobody understands
Don't live your life in such a hurry
Life goes by us all so fast
And the sun will come up again
And I will be here
If you get scared just hold my hand
Tomorrow is yours and who knows
Maybe we'll win the whole shabang
Goodnight Rose, goodnight, goodnight Rose"


Ryan Adams and the Cardinals ~Goodnight Rose


Sadly it is about to be goodnight and goodbye for many of the flowers that Cathy got given for her birthday, including this rose.  So I hope you will forgive me if I feature it again today, but in colour and what you might call the Wedding Photographer's soft focus filter ;-)

I've provided a link to the studio version of Ryan and the Cardinals performing the above song.  There are some brilliant  live versions of the song on YouTube every one quite different and often featuring very extended  jamming - in Ryan's true anarchic fashion.

At more than 5 years old my MacBook has been getting a little long in the tooth and has been struggling a bit with some of the photo editing challenges I've been throwing at it.  I've been thinking about getting a new machine for a little while now and the new Mac finally arrived today. So I've spent some time this evening installing all the software on it and getting everything to work.  Its been a surprisingly speedy and (in the main) pain free process.  The new machine is also considerably faster than the old laptop so it been entertaining editing this photo - I've got used to waiting for the software to do things on my old laptop.  So it took me pleasantly by surprise when the new machine just seemed to do things almost instantly, and without the cooling fan whirring away in the background like a jet engine about to take off.

I'm sure I'll have some problems down the road a way, I'll have forgotten to move some file or other across, but for now all is well.

My one criticism of the new machine is that it has no optical drive (for CDs or DVDs).  This seems to be a policy for Apple, although for those of us that still buy CDs and rip them to a network server its a vital bit of kit. I can see that I'm going to have to get myself an external drive from Amazon in due course.

But for now, its the weekend ... and relax. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.