On set with Churchill

Back in November 2016 a film crew of 274 people, mostly dressed in black puffer jackets, descended on the Castle Estate to shoot a 90 second scene for a feature film for Universal Pictures Darkest Hour.

It was a location filming project six weeks in the planning with two days prep, a 14 hour shoot day and one day strike. And, if I remember correctly, the next day was the start of a week-long TV documentary shoot, albeit on a much smaller scale.

The last big feature I’d worked on at the Castle was The Hollow Crown: War of the Roses in November 2014. My long term followers may remember my Blip when it was released in May 2016.

I heard that the Castle scene had been cut two months ago when my gorgeous Production Designer pal messaged me from the Darkest Hour LA Premiere. A real kicker he’d invited me out there as his date on the red carpet but sadly I couldn’t make it.

Such a disappointment that the filming captured in the castle grounds hadn’t made the edit; a poignant scene set in Churchill’s gardens at Chartwell House, actually the Cedar Pond at Leeds Castle, where a beautiful black swan serenely floated past the camera after a tearjerking moment with much screaming from Churchill symbolising that there is hope in the darkest of times.

It was an amazing experience to see acclaimed director Joe Wright at work - incredibly polite and one of the most focused men I’ve ever met - and his talented French cinematographer Bruno Delbonnel.

I remember the musical score by Italian film composer Dario Marianelli playing from speakers (in the early morning before the castle’s day visitors arrived) as Joe Wright and Gary Oldman watched the scene playback on monitors. It was spine tingling to watch.

The film was written by Anthony McCarten who wrote The Theory of Everything, and is set as Churchill became prime minister to a skeptical King George and faced some of his toughest decisions that would change the course of history.

On the day of the shoot Gary Oldman spent three hours in hair and make up being fitted with prosthetics. His wake up call was 4am - entirely necessary to transform him into the world’s most famous prime minister (see extra photo).

So convincing was the result that my PR colleague said “Pleasure to meet you Winston!” when they were introduced. Classic moment.

I’ve stayed in touch with some of the crew I worked with over the six week project including one of the UK’s top heritage filming Location Managers who has since become somewhat of a mentor and friend to me with filming projects. Ironically we’re now back in touch in my role at the Film Office as he works on a new project scouting Kent locations. It’s my turn to return the favours!

My other chum from the project - and my ‘go-to’ encyclopaedia for all film-related security questions - is ‘Big Tony’ who is forever on shoots with barely a day off. Last year, when he was in charge of 400 security officers across four locations for the Mary Poppins Returns filming, he took a call from me late at night for advice on another one of my film shoots. He saved my bacon that night!

Tony said during the Darkest Hour prep at the Castle: “Anyone that turns up with hot coffee and cake in the pouring rain at 11pm on a Saturday night is a friend for life!”

He text me today asking had I seen the film yet or Justice League which it turns out he was involved in too. My reply was “I’m not sure I can forgive you for not introducing me to Henry Cavill!” Leave it with me, he said...

Funnily enough throughout my whole career in media, my closest industry pals are the ones I supplied with cake when we first met. Now I wonder why that is?!? Just goes to show it always pays off to be the perfect host.

And remember if you’re ever involved in location filming take only pictures, leave only footsteps.

To read more about other Kent locations in the film see an article I wrote here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.