Myra

Myra is the last resident of the Sirius Building which is a rare example of Brutalist architecture in Sydney, and once social housing, enjoying spectacular views of the harbour.
Myra is on the tenth floor, and until recently has refused to move.
She is 91, frail and legally blind, but has now accepted an offer of housing in Pyrmont and will be leaving in two weeks.
I went on the last tour today and enjoyed talks by the architect, Tao Gofers, and others passionate about the building.
If you're interested in the building and its future you might like to check out this site.
I've put up a few shots on flickr.

The first extra is of the view from Myra's bedroom, showing the SOS (Save Our Sirius) sign, which is lit at night, and the second extra is a shot of the building.

I'm sure I would have taken better photos if it hadn't been so hot.
35'!
I don't know if it's because I've lived in a cold climate for nearly 40 years, or if it's an age thing, but I really hate the heat these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.