La vida de Annie

By Annie

Otro arcoiris.

Another rainbow, in almost the same position as the one 3 days ago. Apologies for lack of comments, especially as I got lots of nice feedback on my 9th Blip anniversary yesterday. I've not really been engaged with Blip for a few days, as after posting the milestone blip I had to take Minnie to the vet, to see why her previously-mending broken back leg had swollen alarmingly around the joint. She doesn't seem to be in any pain, but holds the leg up and doesn't even try to walk on it. The vet and I were amazed to see that a new x-ray of the leg showed just a mist where the leg bone should be. The previous one showed a healing break surrounded by very porous bone, the equivalent of osteoporosis in humans. This time it looked like a further knock had vaporized all but the very top of the shaft of the thighbone. No puncture wound to treat, and no surgery possible to repair the leg. The vet said he had never seen anything like this before, and could offer no explanation. I came home with 8 days worth of anti inflammatories and some supplements for bone and joint health. Amazingly she seems in fine spirits and still eats, drinks and loves her walks, albeit on three legs. She is as alert as ever, although she'll be 15 in May, and still follows me around the apartment, never far from me on the sofa as I type on the laptop, and at night when she sleeps at the bottom of the bed. She's been there for me through all my blip adventures including this latest one of moving to another country, and really loves it here. Until she tells me it's time to let her go, I hope she is with me for a while yet.
A dull wet sad day, but the rainbow was a welcome sign of hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.