Silly Saturday - Hawick Balls

I saw this sign in the window of the ice cream shop in Melrose a couple of weeks ago and made up my mind to revisit it on my way to work some Saturday. The late, great Bill McLaren (in my mind the single best rugby commentator that the BBC ever had) always carried Hawick Balls in his pocket no matter where he was. One day, I really must find the statue of him that was erected in one of the parks in Hawick.

This actually reminds me that the Six Nations Championship starts three weeks today. Unfortunately, as I now work on a Saturday, I’ll miss a couple of Scotland’s matches, but there’s one on a Sunday, one with a 1644 kick-off and I’m hoping to take the final day (Super Saturday) off as annual leave, so I’ll not have to miss all the action.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.