Hill-Bagging

By Dugswell2

Bonnington Linn in Autumn

There are three sets of falls on the River Clyde near New Lanark and, interestingly enough, their names run alphabetically downstream. Also, a Scottish word for a waterfall is a "linn".
Nearest to New Lanark itself is Dundaff Linn; next upstream is the highest of the three falls, Corra Linn and farthest upstream lie these falls, called Bonnington Linn.
This picture was taken from the opposite side of the Clyde from New Lanark as this affords the best views of the falls. In what used to be called Corehouse Nature Reserve. This was where I did my training over the winter of 1992 and 1993 for the Flora London Marathon where I recorded a time of 3 hours 52 minutes for my first and only marathon in April 1993.
I have also been on the island in the middle of the falls a number of times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.