Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Inauguration Day in France

It's new President Day! How exciting. I'm in a foreign country and we're getting a new president!

Luckily with scheduling with inauguration and my classes, I was able to watch Obama's inauguration speech. A bunch of us Californians went to The Cock and Bull Pub in downtown Bordeaux and watched the inauguration ceremony projected on wall. It was really exciting. It's hard to express how amazing it was to be an American in France and be proud of the change and progress that is to come. Obama's speech was hopeful and inspiring and it made us all extremely ecstatic for the change that will come in the future.

I forgot to write that as I was going home after the inauguration gathering and dinner with friends that I met this friendly guy on the street. I was about to pass by him and he suddenly just started to talk to me. He asked me all sorts of things like where I was from and why I was in France and whether it was easier to make friends in France or the US. He was a really cool guy and it was nice to "faire la connaissance à" (make friends, make acquaintance with) a French speaker. I saw French speaker because he was originally from the Ivory Coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.