Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Wretched

An utterly miserable day! I took refuge in the pub, which, as you can see, was not exactly jumping. It was bloody freezing in there but at least the wi-fi was working and I was able to download some crucial software not previously installed on the laptop(*).

Having had our phone line reinstated only fifteen days ago I was not best pleased when our internet router got fried during a thunderstorm. This is now what? The fourth? Fifth? You'd think some wisdom might have seeped in by now. Thankfully we have an emergency back-up router at home so that has now been set up and we are running with that until we can get a replacement from OTE.

But the howling wind and lashing rain did not let up until the whole area had lost all power and we had to resort to the gas hob, oil lamps and early bed with a book and reading glasses.
Winter has now arrived.

The laptop in question was a hand-me-down from Stepbrat in the Summer. Spouseman does not use the laptop and I do not use the tablet – I cannot abide fingermarks all over the screen! It strikes me as technology for toddlers, touch-control ovens and hobs irritate me equally. But I need portable technology for circumstances such as these where I absolutely must be online to confirm a booking or update a calendar as a result. Guests expect instant responses because they are using 4G smartphones (probably with fingermarks all over their screens!) I digress, I required an office suite and some internet security programs not already installed on what had previously been used as a toy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.