JoAnn, Campaigning

"I’ve been an advocate for years now and have felt so many times Iike I’m just banging my head against the doors of City Hall, hoping that somehow things will change. I’m running because I want every Portlander to feel like they can be heard at City Hall. We need to take into account voices from every walk of life. We need to find commonality. There’s an opportunity to not be divided by where one lives in the city, by economics, gender, race, sexual orientation or any other way that we can find division, but to be one Portland. That time is now." Jo Ann Hardesty is running for City Council. 

I believe in her, and I want her to win. I've volunteered to make photographs for her campaign, and while most of the activists I've worked with since Occupy are opposed to electoral politics and see electoral politics as neo-liberalism, as a tool of propaganda and a way to keep capitalism in charge of everything in this country, I think there is still some hope for electoral politics on the local level. If JoAnn thinks there is hope in it, I am glad to be on her team. Until the revolution comes, we have to do something. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.