wrperry

By wrperry

Red-shouldered Hawk

I figured if I wore enough layers I would be warm enough to stay outside for an hour max.  That was about right.  But it was enough time to visit the local gardens and run into the same three friends I saw last time - a Red-shouldered Hawk, Northern Mockingbird and Great Blue Heron.  Actually there were two hawks.  As I approached them there were sitting together on the branch.  Did I get a shot of them?  Of course not.  It would have been too good to be true.  One did hang around though, and I had an unobstructed view, so I certainly can't complain.  As I was leaving, I ran into a birder working on his yearly list.  He was up to number 43.  He was standing in one place, waiting for a sapsucker to reappear.  I still don't understand why birders don't have cameras.  Why not capture the moment?
I'm adding an extra photo of a mockingbird.  As I was finishing going through my photos today I was struck by the red background provided by a shrub full of berries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.