Plus ça change...

By SooB

My happy place (sundown)

I love my garden.

This is not a great shot of it.

But bear with me because it makes me feel good regardless.

Look, you can even see my lovely shed.

Today saw market shopping with lots of 'bise' avoidance (trying not to touch anyone in France when you are poorly is genuinely difficult), then basketballing (they lost, no-one's quite sure why as it's a match they should have won, but I think just none of the team were quite playing at their best), then family lounging.  Us grown-ups had little resistance to the kids' relentless march through the Modern Family seasons, and just collapsed on the sofa and sipped champagne (well, it is Saturday).

Then I pulled together the (now standard) Venison Wellington dinner (with a new 'jus' technique that I'm liking for it's simplicity - cook some shallots in a venison-y mushroom-y pan, add lots of alcohol, then some stock, boil the heck out of it, stir in some redcurrant jelly (or whatever anonymous fruit-ish jelly you find in the fridge) and strain) and lounging continued to the disappointingly slow "Life" (save for a hectic bit at the end).  And everyone had nightmares.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.