A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Down time

I didn’t Blip yesterday. I had what I consider to be one of the worst experiences of my professional life and I left work absolutely destroyed. So much so that I seriously questioned whether it might be time to call it a day. Nothing to do with anyone I work with. Just somebody from outside who made me, and colleagues, feel thoroughly incompetent in a situation which was grossly unfair and unjust.

I cried a lot last night.

However, some sage advice from wonderful friends gave me enough strength to drag myself in today. It was a tough day still and feeling sick as a dog didn’t help. Even so, I’ve had some moments of absolute joy and hilarity, including two colleagues coming into my classroom to find 5 of my youngsters blindfolded and trying to figure out what objects were by touch only. If they’d come in five minutes later, they’d have found me doing a yoga pose in the middle of the room.

Some time with the boss gave me some much needed clarity and absolute reassurance that incompetent is not an appropriate adjective to use when describing myself.

So, this evening, I spent an hour in the kitchen, batch cooking for meals for the remainder of the week. That gave me time to reflect a little more and to realise that some changes need to be made in order to improve my efficiency and reduce the time burden of some aspects of my role.

I decided today that kindness is a good place to start and being kind to myself means accepting that it’s ok not to break myself by working every hour of the day. So I sat and watched Top Gear with Corin and then did another tile of doodling.

Early night again as well.

Now, about that snow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.