But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Snow on the Main Street.

We woke up to snow on the ground again with more of it falling from the sky, not too serious but I photographed it anyway. An email an hour later arrived cancelling the camera club’s studio night as the model might not be able to get home afterwards. “Silly” I thought, with eight photographers there, we could take it in turns to model. But, at least I had a Blip.


We went out to buy Herself a replacement for her broken Tesco tablet, I also wanted a job lot of DVD players to replace the two that we broke at the cinema on Sunday and have a spare. The tablet took a while, but while she was deciding on which model, I surveyed and photographed the candidates for my use but decided they were too expensive. We looked around in other shops on the way home but the affordable ones didn’t fit our specifications so, in the evening, I set off to buy the machines that I’d come across right at the beginning.
 
I had not gone but a few hundred yards up the road when I came across a traffic jam; it seemed that a car had stopped half-way up the hill and the following car pulled up a foot or so behind him. When the first car tried to restart, wheels span and it slid backwards, I sidled past on my way while they tried to sort themselves out. Approaching the main road it was obvious that I needed to abort my mission and opted for the longer flat route home rather than the shorter hilly one that was probably becoming more slippery as I was pondering the possibilities. The three mile round trip eventually took me about fifty minutes.
 
It’s amazing how much more difficult it is driving modern cars in a few inches of snow on modern roads than it was driving the cars of fifty years ago on the winter roads of the time; then we had much more snow, no snow ploughs and a gritting lorry was a standard issue council truck and a couple of men with shovels in the back.
 
The Blip used today was taken just after I’d put the car away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.