Wide Wednesday Travel

Steveng is hosting at present while Bob is travelling. Hope he can find something to blip today :-) 
Thanks Steven.

I have always loved to travel. 
These days Blackheath Railway Station is often our starting and finishing point as there is an almost direct line to the airport (2h 40mins with one change at Central). 
Getting to the airport by car is complicated and expensive so I'd much rather go by train unless it's an early flight.

I love train travel too. 
Some of the most memorable train trips I have done include:
Rangoon to Mandalay in 1977
The Blue Train (Capetown to Pretoria), the Tanzam (Dar es Salaam to Mbeya inTanzania) and a really colonial train from Nairobi to Mombasa in 1979 
Beijing to Shanghai and Nanning to Hanoi 2001
Vladivostok to Moscow 2012
Vladivostok to Irkutsk to Beijing in 2014

And there were the trips on "The Western Mail" between Dubbo and Sydney when I was a child in the 1950s. 
Those were steam trains.

Stars ranged from 0 to 5.
And there are still some more I'd like to add to the list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.