Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

The Nantucket Sleighride

I spent the morning in Aberdeen talking to a branch of the Probus Club about the history of the old Scottish Greenland whale fishery. I hope that they enjoyed it as much as I shall enjoy the bottle of champers that they gave to me by way of a thank you.
Anyway, with whaling in mind I have blipped a whaler in a bottle. If you put the telescope to your eye you will see that the American whaler has launched her rowing boat and that the men in it have managed to harpoon a spouting sperm-whale. Attached to the diving Leviathan by a strong rope they are now crashing through the waves "enjoying" what was known as the Nantucket Sleighride.
The whaler in a bottle is one of my less successful Ebay purchases; I thought that it had some age, but when it arrived I was gutted to find that the ship was made of plastic!
The location shows where the action took place, I'm still here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.