malcornorton

By malcornorton

Collectors corner.

During my working life, I worked abroad, quite a lot.
One of my colleagues had to go to the Opel factory, in Eisenach, which was in the previous East Germany and used to be the Wartburg car factory.
  He filled the hire car with fuel, at a local Esso garage and saw a model Trabant car for sale at the counter. ( This would be in the early 1990s ).
He bought one for me and one for himself.
The waiting list for a new, proper Trabant was up to 18 years but when the Berlin wall came down, this was scrapped, as car production, by then
was coming to an end. All that waiting, for nothing !
East Germans had a rough deal , didn't they !
Don't know if you can get these models anymore, but I'm keeping mine !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.