Funny weather

Really blustery in the night and gusting in the big pine this morning. But as I drove down to the dentist at noon the sky was brilliant blue and temp at 15C.

I thought I'd made a perfect run to Piazza Tanucci but at the last minute a road was blocked by Florence's interminable tram works. Teresa and her assistant took pity on my sore gums after they'd joked about torturing me and then using a small hammer to loosen my temporary crown (this all has a rather symbolic feel, no?).

I joked about the Florence production of Carmen in which the director has got Carmen killing her assailant rather than being killed by him in the final act. This was met by derision from the right and support from the left.

On a more disturbing note three workers were killed by a gas leak in a steel furnace in Milan - Italy has a shocking industrial death toll of 1000 deaths a year which often take place in firms working on the edge of legality, although not apparently in this case.

After shopping and cleaning and redeeming points at another shop I took a walk up with the B's dry cleaning to Fiesole as the sun set. The wind had dropped and after so many petty frustrations it felt good to be in Italy.

The photo is taken on the old Fiesole road which gets to cheek-sucking narrowness and which is a challenge to drive down or up but we do it daily and it shows on the car's bodywork.

And the church tower is in Piazza da Mino in Fiesole. the composition  seemed to work better with the scooter heading straight for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.