Unexpected . . .

This morning I set off at 8am for the train to Aberdeen, there to catch the ferry home to Orkney.  I bid Liz a fond farewell and off I went.  

No sooner had I got settled on the train when I got a text and an email from Northlink saying the ferry was cancelled due to the gales.  The next one is on Wednesday - winter timetable, you see.  I enquired about the other ferry, from Scrabster, which runs every day.  Tomorrow morning's one was cancelled because of the weather, but the evening one should be sailing as planned.  

As my ticket was non refundable and only valid today, I stayed on the train as far as Leuchars and caught the bus to St Andrews.  It was about 12 noon, so I dashed to Shelagh's church where she plays the organ.  I surprised her just as she finished the voluntary at the end of mass!  So lovely to see her!

We had a good, very chilly and bracing walk on the West Sands with Lando the dog, and then she went to sit with an old lady whose daughter was going to a knitting group.  Needless to say I went with the daughter, and spent the next hour or so in a wool shop!  Back to Shelagh's for homemade bread and soup and a lovely relaxed evening of catching up.  She made me so welcome and it made me realise how much I miss her and wish we lived closer.

Tomorrow the plan is to head up for the evening ferry from Scrabster.  
If you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.