Window Shopping

Coffee Aztec Mocha at Flying Goat with my friend Nancy and a few errands took me to Railroad Square today. There are several thrift shops there, the window displays are always interesting and I like the reflections.

I parked in front of the yarn shop because the yarn for the sweater I'm knitting (called Malabriga) has such twisted skeins that it takes me an hour to roll them into balls. The yarn shop has a device that does the job in three minutes so it was well worth the trip in there. Besides, who needs an excuse to go to the yarn store?

I went to the dreadful mall to get a gift card for my granddaughter, but I have perfected  my entry and exit to minimize the amount of time spent there, and the girls in Sephora were not very busy and very helpful. I hope my granddaughter still loves make-up as much as she did six months ago.

Last stop was the Western Farm Supply for some treats for Ozzie. Unlike the mall, I love to go there and browse amongst the, Coban wraps for horses' legs, dog food, chicken food, bales of hay, and remedies for almost everything you can think of and some that probably never occurred to you (like bag balm for cows...which is said to have a very soothing effect on winter chapped hands as well). Most people bring their dogs with them and everyone there seems to love what they are doing.

It was well worth the trip to Monti's Rotisserie and Bar for dinner last night. Monti's is one of six (well, five now) Stark Reality Restaurants owned by Mark and Terri Stark. When Willi's Wine Bar burned down, they made sure that all the employees had a job in one of the other restaurants and  Willi's favorite dishes were also divided up. We were delighted that Monti's is doing the garlic truffle fries. Not only are they delicious, but the proceeds from those dishes will go to the fire relief fund.

We sat in Raffi's section, and got the distinct impression that he prefers to be called Rafael, although he's far too well mannered to correct us, so Rafael it is. Having changed my name from Jane (my grandmother's name) to Jennie  (a common nickname for Jane back then) when I was about six, I understand the importance of calling people by their preferred name. It was a very nice meal and we vowed to go there more often....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.