Tommy Tucks In

I think this little fellow could turn out to be a bit of a distraction, even from sunrise blips, although the wet start ruled out any thoughts of catching a sunrise today.

However the skies did clear mid morning and it turned out lovely but cold. Cold enough in fact for the first snow on the mountains of Arran, which is still there as I sit and look out the window.

As soon as I was in the kitchen this morning Tommy was at the window hovering about and trying to catch my attention. Before going for my run, I put out some food for all the birds and Tommy was there in a flash picking out all the large seeds and flying off to stash them in the trees or grass.

Later in the morning I went down to the estuary to speak to a couple of our neighbours who were removing a boat from the water for the winter. We blethered away for a while and to their great surprise Tommy landed on the bow of the boat. They were even more surprised when he took a seed from my hand! Tommy flew back and forth taking seeds from us and hiding them nearby. The funniest part was when he landed on the head of one of them. I was wishing I had the camera with me as I know his wife follows my journal and she would have been amazed to see the little Coal Tit on her husband's head!

At lunchtime a friend arrived with her baby to see us and the first thing she asked was whether we had a tame bird. To her great delight Tommy had landed on the handle of the baby's carry cot. She was even more delighted when Tommy took some seeds from her hand. He is pretty fearless and rather cheeky, but his antics are bringing a lot of joy to those he meets.

Recent meetings of the local camera club have covered macro and wildlife photography. Quite useful as this and most of my blips of Tommy have been on a macro setting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.