Well-Travelled

A long day today for different reasons to those that might usually apply on a term time Thursday. It started with gales blowing in the early hours which eventually woke Bailey at half four and I needed to be up not all that much later in order to leave the house at six. That was a very generous estimate on the first part of the day's travelling and I was in plenty of time for my train and didn't think anything of it being a few minutes late. That was until the first announcement about speed restrictions and an 'object' caught between the overhead wires meaning that the first estimate was an arrival time of 9:30 - 80 minutes after it was due in. Luckily that became more optimistic and we actually got in to King's Cross at 8:45. Everyone's trains being delayed meant that the Underground was overcrowded and shut. The crowd was very British and just stood and waited and it was reopened at 9:00. My tube journeys were fine but I did mean that I was fifteen minutes late to my first session. I'm not so sure that I missed out on any great words of wisdom but there were one or two worthwhile points to take back to work. 

A trip over the road once that was done and in amongst an absolutely packed Central Hall, Westminster. I have been before in a former existence on MAYC weekends but that is a longer time ago than I care to mention. Lots of information to absorb, some of which will work in our context, I think. And my view at lunchtime was distinctly better than usual. 

The last session over-ran a little but my return journey was very straightforward. I had enough time before my train to have a wander around St Pancras and went to visit Betjeman and the Lovers. No delay to my train on the way home so I was in to Bailey at a time not too different to normal. 

He is obviously still suffering from his new start as I got a good greeting but he was soon dozing again. It'll be an early night for both of us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.