Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

"Party" - a play by Tom Basden

A friend of mine took direction of a play called Party by Tom Basden, who was winner of best comedy newcomer at the fringe a few years back.

Having done the photograph for the poster and flyers I was invited to photograph the dress rehearsal today before the first of two shows at St Andrews' Byre Theatre. I have no doubt that it will deliver and not just because it has already been recommended in The Gruaniad but because I was treated to this sneak preview.

The play tells the story of some overly incompetent and politically clueless students trying to set up their own political party in a garden shed. The crowd will be battling with their pelvic floors tonight (it is on stage as I type) and I know this because I spat on the back of my camera trying not to laugh out loud in an otherwise empty auditorium earlier today.

Anyone in or near Fife can catch it tomorrow at 8pm at the Byre Theatre in St Andrews.

Tomorrow I am doing a 70th birthday luncheon. (YES!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.