Monarch Grub turning to Chrysalis

What a couple of days it has been watching these grubs. I ended up with over 50 on three bushes eating voraciously. Totally stripped two bushes and about 8 left on a bush that still has some leaves. Yesterday they started to take off looking for a place to go into chrysalis. From one bush they were raoidly heading across the garden, today one was on the wall of the house a great distance away. I never guessed they would travel so far and at speed. When eating they travel very slowly but when they were heading down the stalks they crawled really fast.
The other bush they went off into a climbing rose which was behind them.
The extra is against the tin fence and by tomorrow I am sure it will have its lovely gold markings and be far more beautiful. The main blip I watched all day off and on as it gradually curled up. Mean while beautiful monarchs were flying around alighting on the stripped bushes to lay more eggs.
I am going to have to be very careful when dead heading not to cut any off, not that I will manage that until I get my plaster off.
In the winter I think I will plant Buddleia and Abutilon bushes as they are hosts for the monarchs.
Sorry I haven't commented as much as usual but will try tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.