JuliaPrice

By JuliaPrice

Ooops!

We welcomed a new face at this weeks singing practice, who we hope to see again next week.
As always, teas and the odd coffee were immediately made for all, whilst those that can manage to, help set up the main room by moving the chairs and clearing the central space.
This week I'd made some rice crispy cakes, I had chocolate, I had rice crispies, easy peasy. I thought I'd made enough for everybody, but by the time Wendy arrived the choc rice crispy box was BARE! Poor Wendy had to make do with the usual biccies. It's the risk you take arriving late!
After a lovely cuppa, munch and good old gossip, as always, Debbie, our Musical Director, started the evenings proceedings off with a warm-up session.
This week besides the usual stretching and breathing exercises, it was, Zip, Zap, Zoom and New York is Unique, Unique is New York. Wondering what's that all about then? Well, you'll just have to come join us or sit in on a practice and find out!
We're a friendly, very mixed group of LGBT singers, our practice sessions are held most Sundays, at St. Stephens Church, by Chancellor Court, L8, just off the roundabout by the Womens Hospital. We generally start arriving and open up about 6pm, for a 6.30 start, usually finishing at 8.30pm.
It was my responsibility this week to do that. Opening up was fine, no problem. Trying to lock up however! Well I struggled with the metal bar slide on the outside gate, before even attempting to lock the lock, admittedly, I was also in a rush, we'd flown out, banging all the lights off, wanting to get home to watch Downton Abbey.
Thank goodness Agneau was there, as my mind was obviously elsewhere and I hadn't heard the banging until he said 'What's that banging noise?' Having forgotten to check the toilets were empty, I'd only gone and locked poor Colin in the church hadn't I? By the way, Colin hasn't got a mobile phone so it was lucky Agneau's got good hearing and the lock sticks or he would've been there all night! Brrrr.
I wonder what'll happen next week?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.