horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

I'm not really a people person....

I've never really been into big(ish, they don't have to be that big) gatherings of people. I'm useless at small talk, and if I'm not in the mood I just find myself feeling completely ill-at-ease. It's that whole, "but you're too outgoing/confident to be an introvert" type thing.

So it was last night. A leaving do for someone who has been in the business for ages, who I've worked with quite a lot, and who it was good to say ta-ra to. I knew I was only going to be staying for one, as we were going to dinner, but then Mel fell ill, but she said I should still go out. But from the minute I got in the car (not this one!) I knew I was in one of 'those' frames of mind. Once we got to the pub that multiplied. I chatted with the person leaving (which is the key thing!), drank my drink, and headed home feeling annoyed with myself.

Like I say, I've never been good at it. It's different if it's, say, ten people in my immediate team, all of whom I know pretty well, but if I'm there, and people are already talking, I get this "you can't interrupt that" sort of feeling, and gradually remove myself from taking part. Always have done, always will. Prefer my own company, I know what I'm doing with that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.