The Tide rises, the tide falls

Bright and very breezy, I had a quick blow down on the strand on the way home from Bantry where I had been inching a little closer to the puzzle of the Ferocious Faery Well. GPS on I tracked down the only well I could find in Donemark. It was up a track which was being fiercely guarded by an Alsatian. There was a little overgrown green area which intriguing had a gap in the wall. This looked promising. I decided to drive up to the house. Donal answered and was charming, as was the alsatian which turned out to be a big softie. There was indeed a well in there but it hadn't been seen for many years and was seriously overgrown. I explained myself. The jury is out as to whether this is the well but Donal promised to make a few phonecalls, clear the site and get back to me! 
Incidentally, Donemark is considered to be the first place in Ireland where humans set foot and by none other than the grandaughter of Noah! Her name was Cesair. She escaped the flood with three arks, 50 women and three men! She was told to go to Ireland where no sin had been committed (!).  Now came the time to populate the island, two men died from a surfeit of women and the remaining one ran off and became a salmon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.