Baku

After a late night it was of necessity a late morning when Robin and I went to a mall to go shopping for items for her flat. Mission accomplished, we then had lunch in a place called "Taksim Kofte"  (see extra). It reminded me of when I went to see Les Miserables at Queens Theatre, Shaftsbury Ave, and had lunch in the "Istanbul Pide Restaurant" next door. Istanbul, it seems, is always within my reach.   

Early evening we set out again after a couple of hours R&R and headed for Baku 'old town'.  Strolling about it was not as windy as it had been this morning.  Very cold though. Today's pic shows the statue of Persian poet Nizami Ganjavi - who seems to be a bit of a hero here.  There followed a delicious dinner at nearby Indian restaurant before taxi home for chat and a beer. Thus day #1 of my Azerbaijan experience was brought to a close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.