Wednesday: It's Me, Heathcliff!

The Zagreb Film Festival is on this week so we are taking the opportunity to see a few movies.  It is a pretty good film festival and quite a few films that have gone on to be very successful have had their first public showings here.

So tonight we wandered off to see 'Wuthering Heights'.  Oh...my...word - by the end we were quite hysterical and not in a good way!  The problem with 'Wuthering Heights' is that it is so intense and moody that you can very easily take it too far and it ends up becoming a parody, which is exactly what happened in this version.  Honestly, I have never seen so much rain or over the top symbolism!

And, I have to say, despite my affection for Victorian novels, Cathy and Heathcliff really are the most annoying couple ever created!  They are such a moody awkward pair that they are welcome to each other.

And so ends my deep insight into the 'Wuthering Height' subtext.

I chose tonight's film.  I daren't tell K. that tomorrow's film is about five children trying to make their way alone in post-war Germany........  

248

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.