Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Anne

dinner at ours

jean-pierre and anne were our guests

i so love cooking

That the evening was much enjoyable came as no surprise. You know how important a friend Jean-Pierre is to me. We both (J. and I) love them both and find we do not see enough of Anne.

So many subjects were discussed during the evening, among which literature, music and the place of art and creativity in general in our and other people's lives. Anne is a sound engineer, Jean-Pierre and Julie write (and Julie's recently taken up photo, too, thanks to a "7 days, 7 black and white pictures of your daily life" challenge on FB), I photograph...

It always makes me happy to cook, and even more when it is to share the food with friends. Risotto ai funghi as a main course, salted butter caramel fondant as a dessert. Cheese in between, of course. I was rather happy that I was able to make my caramel in one single try. It's such a fickle thing, caramel, isn't it: one second it's not even started to brown, the next (or so it seems) it's burnt and sour. Not this time, though, and I think I'll make some again  next time I make crêpes! Just add a little fresh cream and (lots of) butter, and you have a delicious coulis to complement your wheat flour crêpes... :-)

Extra: a general view of the table and its environment.

Polarisottoid, aka the making of the meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.