Transitoire

By Transitoire

Saucisses

Came into school early this morning to attempt to sort out my RIB. Apparently the secrétariat got a message from the rectorat saying that they couldn't pay my salary as my RIB had an English address on it. Unfortunately the policy with HSBC when you open an account, if you have been recommended by your English HSBC branch your home address is put on your bank details. Not perfect really when you have to prove you live in France with it. Anyways, went back into the bank (they now recognise my face, not sure whether this is a good or bad thing!!) and they were lovely as ever and changed my RIB to my French address here and cancelled the charges outstanding on my bank account. Hopefully will get my avance soon without any issue...well we live in hope!

First lesson was with troisième INTER, and they had a test on the Bhopal Disaster and Merry Hill Shopping Centre...thrilling stuff. Even the teacher admits it is not the best or the most interesting of topics! Next topic, agriculture in England. Cannot wait. Had a very interesting conversation with Romain though about the relationships between England and America, and England and Europe. We both agreed on the self-effacing nature of the British compared to everyone else in the world! Language was also discussed...in the same way that mère - maire - mer are the same sounds to an English speaker, sheep - ship - shape are pronounced the same by a French speaker. Great fun trying to teach everyone the differences!

After a lovely lunch in the staffroom (I'm finally starting to be able to almost join in conversations!) I had the troisième EURO and listened to and helped grade their presentations. Learnt a lot about languages that I didn't know before - arabic has two different scripts for example! Also really noticed that when the students read from their notes their English accents were not brilliant, yet when they occasionally looked up their speaking was a lot more comprehensible and with less of an accent. If only I had realised that when I was their age...

Finished off my day with a lovely lovely evening avec Claire and Becky. Was more than English themed, was pretty much like being at home! We had sausage, gravy and mash for tea, with English television playing in the background (thanks Warwick for the firewall cheat!) and conversation happening over the top. It is always good to hear how other people are getting on in their schools, and seeing how the schools differ. Claire got given an origami dragon by one of her students...I want one!!! Continued discussions about Saturday night and sorted out the rest of our week - language café tomorrow, Freshers party Thursday, possible drinks Friday...then visit to Honfleur planned hopefully for Saturday day. All things a-going!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.