Staying alive

I did a basic first aid course today, very interesting and quite scary!

We got to use dummy defibrillators on the dummy, as well as practicing CPR.

I learnt a lot, but I think these 2 things are the most important:

1.CPR only gets the heart back in action in 5% of cases. What it does do is keep the blood circulating to the brain to keep the brain functioning. Once started, don't stop until paramedics arrive.

2. Defibrillators in public places are really easy to use and you don't have to be trained to use them. Once you open the box, it has really clear illustrations and as soon as the pads are applied it talks to you and tells you what to do, including the CPR you need to do between shocks. It automatically measures the heart activity and it will not shock someone that doesn't need to be shocked, so you won't accidentally harm anyone with it.

I still hope that I'll never have to use one, but I'll not hesitate should the circumstances arrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.