The Road to Red Rock Canyon

My son's house is only 5 miles from the entrance to the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area.  It is a spectacular location that is especially nice at sunrise, so it was a no-brainer for me to get up early, since I am on East Coast time anyway.  As I came over the hill, the road was clear and this is what I saw.  I pulled over immediately to capture the gorgeous color of the sky because I knew it probably wouldn't last long enough for me to get to the scenic overlook.  

As I passed the entrance to the park and visitor's center, I noticed a number of cars lined up and thought they must have been waiting for the gate to open at 7, but when I went a little further down the road to the scenic overlook, where I like to get my shots, I saw several other cars parked outside and the gates were down, and I realized we are all victims of the government shutdown.  Nobody will be visiting Red Rock Canyon today, or in the immediate future.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.