rainbowsparklie

By rainbowsparklie

Comfortable as an old shoe

I met our new leader today. Her opening line was complimentary about my boots. As I revealed the story behind the purchase we exchanged more about each others tibs and fibs than my osteopath will ever need to know. I'm not usually the 'shoe-chatty' type but if there's a conversation about where women of a 'certain calf size' can get a decent pair of knee-highs, I'm in.

From that ice-breaker we seamlessly moved to the analogy about not stepping into your predecessors' shoes when starting a new job. It's much wiser to start in shoes you like and are comfortable and walk the catwalk proud in your own style. (I'm glad we had this conversation, I had written a welcome card with a similar message. However it's currently winging its way around London sorting offices as I forgot to out the address on!)

I also forgot to get to take a blip when out and about today. Had camera in bag - just plain forgot. Then I thought I'd take a picture of the boots, to mark the story. But one boot turned into many, as I avoided putting a box of clothes away in under-bed storage. The task I avoided also included moving a box of old shoes - a coincidental addition to my initial subject.

As I laid out my shoes for their photoshot I realised that I don't really have a variance in style a colour. Black or brown (unless trainers) and 'sensible.' As I told our new leader earlier I have more of a boots, trainers or flip flop style to my life. Down to earth, on the go, and prefer a break the rules and go bare foot. It seems this analogy is literally true.

Each pair of shoe has a story. So I present:
- Gamesmaker!
- Irish dancing - not in current use, note the lack of shoe laces
- Battered Diadora trainers from a tennis tournament I worked as a ball girl
- Emergency something sparkly for my aunts wedding
- A bit of a heel for the most important meetings
- Tunisia holiday
- Brown boots that don't fit v tan one that do
- Sketches phase (no, they alone don't tone your bum)
- Rarely worn Christmas slippers
- Emergeny slippers sent in the post when I was in hospital
- Old faithful 'Spice Girl' boots. Know personally as my 'Don't fuck with me boots' - that extra confidence and height when going somewhere busy
- Rainbow flip flops
Everyone should have a pair of rainbow flip flops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.