Breakfast Time

What a great morning for a walk! First I saw a hawk high up in the Norfolk pine, tearing some prey apart with great gusto--not everyone's idea of something terrific to watch, but fascinating to me. Then the church bells inexplicably began to play Green Green Grass of Home over and over and over. The surfer statue wore a knitted pink hat and a Be the Change t-shirt. A solid black dog ran after his sticky yellow tennis ball with such unfettered glee, pink tongue lolling out in a silly grin. And then this man, covered in sparrows, watching the expert surfers navigating the huge waves. He kept reaching into his pocket for more crumbs, and the birds fluttered and danced around him, lined up on his arm in total trust. When he saw me taking pictures he offered me a handful of crumbs, not to eat, silly, but to share with the birds. Immediately I had a handful of soft pecking fluffy creatures, their rough little feet tickling my palm. I just laughed and laughed, what a delight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.