Dusk, 1st Avenue

The tree which moves some to tears of joy is in the eyes of others only a green thing that stands in the way. Some see nature all ridicule and deformity... and some scarce see nature at all. But to the eyes of the man of imagination, nature is imagination itself.

It’s not raining as heavily this morning, but what Rain there is clearly wants to be snow. I head back through the two long stretches of M4 roadworks to Heathrow, and install myself in T5.

I’ve got a business class deal on this trip and have got myself a seat in the upstairs section of the plane. It’ll be more useful on the return journey, which is overnight, but it’s very pleasant anyway. Champagne to start, solicitous stewardesses, totally edible food.

I whisk through immigration in Philadelphia with my Global Entry ticket and even the car rental goes smoothly. Half an hour after landing, I’m on my way to Phoenixville.

Unusually, Keith is at home when I arrive. Him and Joanne broke up before xmas, so he’s not his usual buoyant self.

I get a salad from Liberty Pizza across the road and we watch the first quarter of the Eagles v Vikings in the run up to the super bowl. It’s so exciting, I have to take myself off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.