Travelling to other Airts

Having lived all my life bar 10years in Edinburgh, it might be supposed that I would know every neuk and cranny of the city, and so it was interesting to journey into parts hitherto unexplored.

His Lordship and I were travelling to collect a water colour painting of his good self by another blipper, -Willllwynbedw- who usually blips portraits of musicians ‘on the hoof’ as it were, but who decided generously to step out of line and commit HL to paper. *(see extra image). He does not live in Edinburgh but had kindly deposited the painting with a relation who does.

The expedition was completed by bus and foot leading us to the boundary of Murrayfield and Ravelston, a very leafy and spacious suburb, and in particular, to a beautiful countrified road which seemed a million miles from the city even if, as my blip shows, the castle could be seen in the distance . The spire in the foreground is, I think, that of St Mary’s Cathedral in Palmerston Place.

This area I might have known well had I been slightly younger, as my alma mater moved from its city centre location out to Ravelston after I left school. It would have meant a very long daily commute from my home on the south side of the city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.