RetiredDBA

By RetiredDBA

Black Crag Recce

To familiarise myself with the walks offered by LDNP I decided to recce the Black Crag and Yewdale walk which also takes in Tarn Hows and the lovely Tom Gill. Weather a bit wetter than forecast but also much warmer than of late. The only marginally complicated part of the route from a navigation perspective was the descent from the summit of Black Crag. It would have helped if the route description and route map I downloaded actually matched. The route description said 'head westward keeping the wall on your right'. This was plainly wrong. I could either head W keeping a wall on my left or head SSW keeping the wall on my right. I shall have to ask the experienced leaders which it should be! Regardless I found the bridleway I was looking for. The blip is a derelict farm building as I descended from Tarn Hows via the bridleway to the car park at Glen Mary (Tom Gill) with the partially snow covered Yewdale Fell in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.