Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Resistance is useless

I have the bug. Mind you this is my sister’s fault. She bought me the accessory set on my Amazon wish list not knowing I didn’t actually have the thing that the accessories attached to. So I had to buy the thing itself. I can’t wait to try it out, but I will be patient. I want to use it properly. It’s a serious bit of kit.

TSM bought it home as I wasn’t in the office today. “I do worry about you sometimes” she said. “Mrs D wants to know if you’re going through a mid life crisis”. Mrs D is the office factotum, she who must be obeyed, boss, matron and utterly reliable possessor of common sense (a la Mrs Marple). Her observations are worth noting. But it could be worse. I mean it’s not a motorbike.

As of today I have a new job and three offices. I went to one and made myself useful for the day. I shall go to another tomorrow. Visibility is important, although so is accessibility. And food. Food is important. And coffee.

Being itinerant makes you aware of these things. A really lovely man made me a coffee in the office kitchen today and demonstrated the coffee machine with amazing grace. I think he actually loves it. It has knobs and dials and (as he put it) is intuitive to use. Probably the same kind of relationship I expect to have with this little beauty.

I won’t say what it is. If you know you don’t need telling. If you don’t, then you probably won’t be interested. But I can tell you now that the phrase “resistance is useless “ is apt as this thing will go through wood like a hot knife through vegan margarine ...

I sat down to supper on my own as TSM was working late. I watched the end of Things To Come, Korda’s epically badly acted but compelling vision of the future. Not sure why everyone in the future dressed like Romans but they were a pretty miserable bunch considering they had everything. Then I tried to pick up Prick Up Your ears, which is a very good but hard to watch film. No one in it is likeable, and you want to tell them all to shut up. It was quite funny when the landlady rushed in and said “Do you notice I'm limping? Spilled a hot drink down my dress. My vagina came up like a football.” Anyway I switched to The Bicycle Thieves but that was unbearable too, for different reasons. As one critic more or less said, it’s hard to watch because you know everything is going to go horribly wrong and you start putting your hands over your eyes and watching through the slits of your fingers. I was glad when TSM came home and we watched another episode of The Crown. I’m no snob. It’s good telly of the old fashioned variety. Everyone likes The Crown. Resistance is useless ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.