A place in time

By Verbosa

Week 2 - Shocking

The start of week two and I have a shocking confession to make...

I have cleared out my fridge today and disposed of a number of severely out of date items, including no less than nine sauce bottles of varying types, four jars, a bottle of soy sauce, a pot of whipping cream and an unopened packet of smoked salmon (that came in my father-in-law's hamper).  I'm appalled at this wastage, but do humbly submit m'lud, that some of them (namely the jar of tahini) went back to best before dates of 2010. 

So, after bleaching the fridge, I set about making a sponge cake to cheer myself up.  Vanilla sponge with vanilla buttercream & homemade jam filling.  The verdict:  Could do better.  You see, my Mum used to make the most marvellous sponge cakes (named Nanny Cake by The Boy) and the best-ever scones (extolled by Mr A).  She rarely bakes these days as she finds it too painful to stand for long enough.  Needless to say, I have a lot to live up to!

Aside from that, I'm chuffed to report that I now have a clear desk as I've hidden all the clutter in a box underneath which has even been dusted too.  So, I truly am making great strides in this homemaking lark and it's only the start of week two.

Thought for the day:

"Accept what is, let go of what was, and have faith in what will be."  (Unknown)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.