Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Oh Happy Day!

At this point in the year, I had almost despaired of seeing this, my favorite Winter yard bird. It's a hermit thrush and it breeds way up north somewhere. Unlike the white-throated sparrows and dark-eyed juncos, our yard is not exactly FULL of these guys in the Winter. But about four or five (?) years ago one showed up - the first I'd ever laid eyes on - and every year since he (or she) has returned. Last year at one point I actually saw two of them at the same time, so there could be several for all I know. In any case, I just happened to glance out the door at the right moment this afternoon and I shouted said "Oh! There he IS!!" To which The Husband, not unsurprisingly, said "Who?" I explained, but I could sense his attention waning the minute he realized it was a bird. I am told they have a very pretty song, but I won't hear it as he'll be gone back north by the time his singing season arrives.

Blipping early today as tonight is my monthly Ladies dinner out night...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.