Day 023/18. The black art of plumbing.....

I am rubbish at anything to do with plumbing, but the danger is, I'll give it a go. The flush in our downstairs bathroom had broken, so I thought I would have a go on a rainy day. I'm an engineer, what could go wrong?
The story so far.....
1. I had to cut off one of the corroded bolts with a hacksaw blade to remove the cistern.
2. I split the plastic nut holding the overflow pipe onto the cistern.
3. Purchased a new membrane for the syphon only to find it did not fit.
4. Purchased a complete new syphon only to find it did not fit either.
5. Found that the largest 2 Plumbing supplies stores nearby did not stock the required size of syphon.
6. In removing the old syphon, broke the filler valve.
7. Gave up for the day and hunted ( and, I hope, found) the correct size online....ordered.
8. Cleared up and now a 3 day wait for the part to arrive.......
More of the story later in the week..... It's going well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.