What struck my fancy

By TonyLuxton

The heirloom

This Viennese wall clock, made by Gustav Becker around 1878 - 80 was given to my grandmother about that time when she married. It passed to her daughter and from when I first saw it as a child I always wanted it. My aunt died and the clock came into my possession.

It received its first service in late 2015 to remedy a fault, and today the horologist visited to lubricate it. He'll come again in two years to repeat the treatment.

It's very gratifying to keep it in running order. The two weights below the face have to be wound up to keep the pendulum going, weights on the end of the pendulum can be adjusted to improve time-keeping. It loses a minute or two every few days so it's pretty good. The chimes are pleasingly mellow. It deserves three cheers for long service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.