Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Family Trees

To Ayr for a family funeral today of my Aunt Jeanette. She had been unwell for a long time but her passing in the end was quick and unexpected.

She was the wife of my Uncle Dai - one of my late Mum’s brothers - she was one of eight. Four remain, including Dai, and it was comforting to see the huge turnout from his friends and family, holding him at the heart.

On the long road home- delayed due to accidents on the motorway - I remembered the first funeral I ever attended as a child - my maternal grandad - and how utterly bewildered I was by the “rhythm” of the day - especially at the gathering afterwards where, instead of the howling grief I expected, there was laughter as people shared stories. I remember being furious with every adult there, shouting at them to stop - didn’t they know what had just happened?!

Now age and experience means I understand it only too well - and find a loving comfort from it. That need to connect and reaffirm the lives and relationships that go on.

RIP Aunt Jeanette x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.