Hockey Mom

As I have mentioned before, my youngest son is the attorney for the Las Vegas Professional Hockey Team.  They are a new, expansion team in their first year of play.  As a general rule, expansion teams don’t do well during their first few years as it takes time to build a team, but defying all odds and predictions, this team is in first place in its division and conference, and the number 2 team in the entire league of 31 teams.  It has been a very exciting for the hockey fans of Las Vegas and for our boy’s parents.  I never cared much for hockey before this season, but I have to confess, I have not missed one game yet.  We have subscribed to a hockey package that allows us to get all the Vegas games, otherwise, we wouldn’t be able to see them because sports games are generally broadcast in their own broadcast areas and we live on the opposite side of the country. 

I have become a rabid fan.  I follow the standings, read the hockey blogs, receive hockey alerts, and can talk hockey with just about anyone.  It’s hard to believe that this is me, but my sons and husband are absolutely delighted about it.

Last night, while still here in Vegas, I was able to go to a game. This is only my second live game and it was such fun.  Las Vegas has never had a professional sports team before, I think because of the city’s link to gambling, but now that gambling is everywhere, professional sports have arrived and the fans are ecstatic.  

The arenas do not allow cameras with interchangeable lenses so my new Sony RX10iv got in without any problems.  This was taken from the opposite end of the arena and managed to capture the entire “line.”  

I have loaded an extra the “ice crew.”   Only in Vegas do they look like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.