Spring Tides

It is that time of the year again when tides are high. The forecast was that the tide would be almost 10m high at Parkgate on Wirral today. The isobars were tightly packed so that meant low pressure, another good sign. All that was needed was the wind to be in the right direction and all the elements for a really high tide would be in place.

The tide flooded the marshes up to the sea wall and there were lots of birds to see. The highlight for me is when the raptors show up. I was not to be disappointed today. Among the ones I recognised were peregrines, kestrals, hen harriers and owls.

In the main they were too far away for my puny lens so instead of taking photographs I concentrated on watching them through the binos.

The tide is forecast to be almost as high again tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.